top of page
Writer's pictureSINEAD ORMISTON

2. Choosing a Career

Description: What Happened?


The next stage of my Fashion in Practice journey required me to select a career role I would like to explore. My Fashion Management and Marketing degree has opened a wide variety of career options for me to follow. I had to do extensive research to narrow down my options in Week 2.


Feelings: What were you thinking and feeling?


I found this milestone to be one of the most challenging. I am an indecisive person and I am interested in many sectors of the fashion industry from styling, buying and writing…the roles are endless. I felt anxious and lost in the assignment as I simply could not decide and start the project. Eventually, a YouTube video by British Vogue and Alexa Chung helped me decide on Trend Forecasting.


Evaluation: What was good and bad about the experience?


I benefited from this experience as I was able to do research into various job roles. I spoke to lecturers and did research on many career websites to gain insight that I did not have before. However, my indecisiveness was time consuming. This hindered my progress in other university demands and starting assignment 1.


Analysis: What sense can you make of the situation?


My indecisiveness allowed me to obtain more industry knowledge but hindered my time allocation.

According to research, indecisiveness implies “that more information is consumed before a decision is reached” (Booster, et al., 2008, p.96).

Although I gained more insight, this decision-making process limited my productivity as indecisiveness was time consuming (Booster, et al., 2008).


Conclusions: What could you have done differently?


I think I could have been surer in myself and my decisions. Overthinking tedious details limits me in my university work. Time management and having self-confidence in my choices is a skill and aptitude I must develop for wider professional practice.


Action Plan: How will you approach a similar situation in the future?


To combat my career indecisiveness, I plan to use pros and cons lists. Pros and cons lists uncover unconscious biases that accumulate better decision making (Charyk, 2017). This approach will best suit me as it presents a logical way of making a decision (Vogel, 2022). Furthermore, by watching more of the documentary series by British Vogue x Alexa Chung, I can learn more about other potential careers.


words: 339


83 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page