top of page
Writer's pictureSINEAD ORMISTON

4. The Interview

Description: What Happened?


In week 5 I learned about semi-structured interviews.

They can be defined as simple conversations that involve flexible questions that allow for a fluid conversation (Fylan, 2005, p.65).

I became familiar with the different types of interview questions which was helpful when drafting questions for my interview. Tutor guidance within seminar time in conjunction with more job description research helped me form the necessary questions for my interview that I completed the following day.

Feelings: What were you thinking and feeling?


A sense of panic came over me as I started learning about the complexity of interview questions. I felt myself overcomplicating every question, wondering whether I was getting the correct information I needed to complete my research report. After changing my questions the day before my interview, I could not help but feel scared. However, the interview was more relaxed than I anticipated, and it left me with relief.


Evaluation: What was good and bad about the experience?

This experience allowed me to overcome an anxious milestone.

The seminar helped me correctly develop the questions needed for my interview. The support and encouragement was beneficial since I was feeling so worried. A negative to my interview was that it was rushed, resulting in me feeling unprepared and nervous before my interview. In the end I was glad I completed it.


Analysis: What sense can you make of the situation?


Since the interview was a core element of my research report, I subconsciously placed a lot of tension on this section, which caused anticipatory stress. Anticipatory stress causes an individual to feel panic regarding an unprepared or unknown situation (Peacock & Wong, 1996). As a result, I doubted myself and even considered postponing the interview.


Conclusions: What could you have done differently?


Although it was a stressful experience, I am glad I completed this milestone. However, I should have simply told my interviewee that I was not prepared for the interview to avoid this rushed stress. I also could have done more research prior to agreeing to an interview.



Action Plan: How will you approach a similar situation in the future?


This experience has helped me inform how I am going to conduct primary research for my dissertation. I plan on practising my questions with a third party and by doing so I will be able to conduct myself “eloquently, accurately and positively” (Indeed, 2023). I will be able to apply these improved skills when conducting more interviews in my Level 6 work.


Words: 369

86 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Коментарі


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page