top of page
Writer's pictureSINEAD ORMISTON

5. Nearing the End...

Description: What Happened?


Upon concluding my research report, the role of Trend Forecasting no longer appealed to me. The job role is anxiety ridden and in week 8 we learned how this affects work-life balance. Forecasting is being made redundant by technology and learning about the threats of technology in week 9 reiterated my doubts to the role (Burgess & Connel, 2020).

Feelings: What were you thinking and feeling?


I felt disheartened as I thought that all my research was pointless. After reflection I felt relieved that I explored trend forecasting as I can now disregard this job as a future career. I am optimistic to investigate alternative roles that align to my wants and needs.


Evaluation: What was good and bad about the experience?


Although I am choosing not to pursue this career path, the research report has helped me narrow down my career options by the process of elimination.

I have also realised the importance of work-life balance which is something I struggle with currently at university.

Although the report emphasised bad things about the role, the experience has been positive as it has opened my eyes to factors about the career I had not previously considered.


Analysis: What sense can you make of the situation?


This process of elimination has helped me find a career direction. I have been able to learn more about the way the industry functions and how fashion trend forecasting will become an essential skill in most fashion-marketing jobs. This conclusion is a product of the theory that “elimination…is a fundamental component of many learning processes” (Freivalds, et al., 2002, p.37).



















Conclusions: What could you have done differently?


I think that the deduction of the report only benefits my personal career aspirations.

I would not have done anything differently as the outcome of the report may be cynical, but it is realistic.

I believe this logical approach is more efficient as being critical and objective is the best way to reach the right decision (Shulman, 2017).

Action Plan: How will you approach a similar situation in the future?


To decide on a possible career path I will search for summer internships. I have applied for a few on FashionWorkie and have received a response for a marketing and sales internship. I plan on shadowing other employees at this internship to obtain first hand insight into various roles. I am excited to get industry experience and to further my search for the most ideal career path.


words: 365

76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page