top of page
Writer's pictureSINEAD ORMISTON

6. Where Do We Go From Here?

Description: What Happened?


Throughout my research report on Trend Forecasting, I have explored the practicality of my personal career capital and essential competencies in relation to succeeding in the fashion-business industry.


Reaching the end of the module I reflect on my current career capital.

Feelings: What were you thinking and feeling?


I feel proud of myself for putting industry skills into practice. I feel more confident in my networking, managing change, critical thinking, and overall employability competencies. I think that this research project has been a practical tool in the development of myself in context with my future career.

Evaluation: What was good and bad about the experience?


Reflecting on my career capital post-module completion allowed me to re-evaluate my new skills with fresh eyes. My initial experience with self-evaluation was negative as I harshly critiqued myself. However, I experienced some positive self-development as I became less judgmental of my competencies. I was able to enhance my career capital throughout this module which has resulted in an increased self-confidence. My experience with developing my career capital was good with the most notable and positive aspect being the growth of my self-knowledge.

Self-awareness is essential in the workplace since “self-knowledge builds success” (Eatough, 2022).

Analysis: What sense can you make of the situation?


This situation is an example of the self-evaluation process that consists of self-assessment, self-enhancement, self-verification, and self-improvement (Taylow, et al.,1995). Self-assessment was conducted through completion of my career capital framework which then experienced self-enhancement through the competencies learned throughout this module. Self-verification of these new competencies materialised through the interview process and completion of the research report. Lastly, self-improvement is evident through re-analysis of my career capital. This situation can therefore be analysed as a journey of the self-evaluation process.
















Conclusions: What could you have done differently?


I think I could have taken the opportunity to apply more of the career capital competencies in practice. By completing two interviews I could have further solidified the skills and competencies learned through application to real life experiences. This would have furthered my self-development and ultimately my employability.


Action Plan: How will you approach a similar situation in the future?


To develop my competencies, I plan on re-evaluating myself before my summer internship. The position is a marketing role at an agency that represents international brands which will allow me to explore all aspects of the career capital framework. At the end of my internship, I will reexamine my career capital as self-improvement requires consistent re-evaluation to improve employability.

words: 372


98 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page